PETA: Is Wine Vegan?

News features

Is Wine Vegan?


PETA: Vegan WineThe majority of people are unaware that wine, although made from grapes, may have been made using animal-derived products. During the winemaking process, the liquid is filtered through substances called “fining agents.” This process is used to remove protein, yeast, cloudiness, “off” flavors and colorings, and other organic particles. Popular animal-derived fining agents used in the production of wine include blood and bone marrow, casein (milk protein), chitin (fiber from crustacean shells), egg albumen (derived from egg whites), fish oil, gelatin (protein from boiling animal parts), and isinglass (gelatin from fish bladder membranes).

Thankfully, there are several common fining agents that are animal-friendly and used to make vegan wine. Carbon, bentonite clay, limestone, kaolin clay, plant casein, silica gel, and vegetable plaques are all suitable alternatives. You can check your local organic or health food stores, local organic winemakers, and co-op’s, and most regular wine/liquor stores will order vegan wines upon request.

An extensive list of vegan wines is available at

The following are examples of a few companies that sell vegan wine online:

  • Cooper’s Hawk Vineyards
  • China Bend Winery
  • Fitzpatrick Winery
  • Frey Winery
  • Organic Biodynamic Vegan Wine
  • Organic Vintners
  • Palmina Wines
  • Seghesio Family Vineyards
  • Smithfield Wine
  • The Vegan Vine Wines
  • Thumbprint Cellars
  • Vinavanti Wines
  • Wrights Wines

BeVeg is a vegan certification company that specializes in certifying beverages. Its website has a beverage search feature, like that of Barnivore.


This article was originally published on PETA

Share with:

Leave A Reply

How Can We Help?

Request info or a free quote.

Contact Us